In Honor of the Super Bowl

2 Feb

A few weeks ago my favorite team lost their football game. To say I was bummed about it would be an understatement! I allowed (and wrongly so) the loss to affect my attitudes the rest of the evening. The loss loomed much larger to me than it really mattered in the scope of eternity.

As I awoke the next morning, the following chorus was going through my thoughts.

Lord, you are more precious than silver.

Lord, you are more costly than gold.

Lord, you are more beautiful than diamonds,

And nothing I desire compares with You. (Lynn DeShazo)

I was immediately convicted by the truth that my favorite team winning or losing a big game could not compare with the Lord. I was reminded that changes in circumstances – be that in relationships, location, position, finances, health, etc. – nothing could compare with knowing Him.

The Psalmist puts it this way:

Whom have I in heaven but You?
And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. (Psalm 73:25)

Jesus says it in this manner:

But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. (Matthew 6:33)

Paul stated it as:

But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith, that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death. (Philippians 3:7-10)

To desire Him above all else means that I will seek Him before I seek anything or anyone else. I will build my time, resources, my very life around Him. I will choose to value Him and being rightly related to Him through faith in Christ over what this life has to offer. I will see, like Paul, that “to live is Christ and to die is gain” (Philippians 1:21).

A few weeks ago my favorite team lost their football game. It’s still disappointing to me, but my perspective is changing:

My flesh and my heart may fail,
But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (Psalm 73:26)

Leave a Reply

